A Very Long Goodbye

I’m not sure why I’m doing this.  I guess I have always had a weird desire to blog about my shitty, embarrassing life, and now seems as good a time as any to do it, as I am contemplating ending it soon.  I’m not sure if it’s narcissistic or natural to want to leave a record of your life,  but I think that is the basic purpose of this blog.  I think some small part of me is also trying to reach out to the world, to see if I am alone in my situation.  I am also using this as a way to organize my thoughts and to vent my feelings in times of distress.  I have used journaling in the past, but there is something intriguing about sharing all of this with the world, I guess.  When I write this down in my journal, I am only sharing it with myself.

I will use this first post as an introduction, as is customary.  I am in a state of distress and my thoughts are scattered.  I am also brand new to blogging.  If I continue to update this, hopefully my writing will improve and be a bit more coherent.

I am a 34 year old man (despite the title of this blog) who lives with his parents, is unemployed, and has been battling mental illness for more than two decades.  Obsessive compulsive disorder seems to be at the heart of my issues, but it has been suggested to me by more than one mental health professional that I may be on the autistic spectrum, and I feel there is some merit to that.  I feel that at this point in my life, I also have some personality disorder-type issues.  My issues began when I was around 13 years old, and I have since seen eight different therapists.  In addition to OCD and ASD, I have also been diagnosed, (or misdiagnosed, perhaps) with ADHD, Bipolar disorder, and of course depression and general anxiety.    I have been on multiple SSRIs, TCAs, benzos, stimulants, anti-psychotics, anti-convulsants, beta-blockers, and sleep aids.  None of them have worked.

When I was being treated for ADHD, I developed an addiction to amphetamines.  I used my medication (Vyvanse) as prescribed for over two years.  Then, during one particularly bad day at work, I took an extra one to help me get through the day.  It was all downhill after that.  I spent the next 15 months alternating between abusing my medication and trying to get off of it.  I finally stopped taking them for good in August of 2013.  After that I experimented with opioids for awhile and briefly abused Benadryl.  I am clean now.  I don’t even drink alcohol or consume caffeine anymore.   I am currently not taking any medications, either. 

I am exhausted all the time and there are many days when I can barely function at all.  There are no thyroid or metabolic issues, according to blood work.  I have recently been evaluated for sleep issues in a formal sleep study and I seem to show the symptoms of Upper Airway Resistance Syndrome.  But since it isn’t Obstructive Sleep Apnea, my insurance refuses to pay for it.  The sleep doctor gave me a script for Gabapentin to help me sleep, not knowing what else to do.  On nights when I do take it, I wake up feeling even more tired than when I don’t take it.  It is clearly not the answer.

I have been out of the workforce since 2012.  I am now trying to re-enter, but despite the booming economy, I am routinely rejected from even basic customer service and warehouse-type jobs.  I have no idea how to explain the gap on my resume, as it is essentially due to drug abuse and mental illness.  I have held a volunteer position since 2010, and have done good work for the organization, am well liked there, have supervisors willing to serve as references, etc.  But nobody gives a shit.  A volunteer job is not steady, gainful employment, and that is what matters.

Most embarrassingly, I did not become sexually active until earlier this year.  I managed to go 34 years without having sex, and then I met a woman my age at my volunteer job who, for whatever reason, found me attractive.  She was (is) married.  We started as friends, then got closer and closer, then slept together, regretted it, and then slept together many more times.  Then she got caught.  I now think she was using me as a weapon to punish her husband, who she once told me she hated, but now claims to “love very much.”  Today she told me she wants to cut me out of her life entirely so she can go back to her husband.  I thought we were in love, mostly because she told me she loved me and I told her the same.  I was wrong.  I think that is why I am writing this blog post right now.

I am at a bizarre, in-between state of mind.  I have not fully committed to suicide, but I have completely lost hope.  I am in a great deal of pain, but I’m not sure if I want to die.  My life has been painful and pointless.  I have tried very hard to improve my situation, but to no avail.  I have entirely missed out on the very best years of my life.  I am looking at a future of jumping from one minimum-wage part-time job to another.  I will likely never be financially stable enough to move out of my parent’s house.  I will probably live with them until they die, at which point I will inherit the house, sell it, and then live in a little apartment somewhere.  I will be in my 50s or 60s when this happens. (I want to point out that I am in no hurry for my parents to die.  I love them very much and I greatly appreciate all the support they have given me.  I will never be able to repay them.   I am just trying to paint a picture of my situation).

I will likely never have sex again.  I won’t die a virgin, but I will probably die never knowing what it’s like to experience romantic love.  Dating is obviously out of the question right now.  Being 34, living with your parents and being unemployed doesn’t look great on Tinder.  Being 35, living with your parents and making $8 an hour isn’t much better (my best case scenario for the future).  Being mentally ill also doesn’t help.  And it’s not like I’m brimming with sexual confidence, having done the deed maybe 20 or 30 times total at the age of 34.

The friends that I grew up with have normal lives.  My childhood best friend is a professional scientist.  He owns a home and is married, and his wife is pregnant with their first child.  Many of my other friends have similar lives.  And then there’s me.  I was supposed to turn out just like them.  I didn’t.  And to say that I am impossibly far behind is a little bit of an understatement.

I don’t yet know if I will kill myself or not.  But I think I am very close to deciding.  I want to spend one more nice Christmas with my family.  I will see my old friends, they will be home for the holidays to see their families.  I will have a chance to say goodbye to them.  And I want to celebrate my sister’s birthday one more time.  It is in early February and she is the person who I feel closest to in this world.

After that, I’m not sure that I want to keep on doing this.  I will turn 35 in early May.  I don’t think that I want to look back on my life on my birthday and see what I see now.  I certainly don’t want to look back from my 40th, 50th, or 90th birthday and see this.

I am well aware of the fact that committing suicide would be devastating to my family.  I think about that a lot.  I don’t want to do that to them.  But people who love their families kill themselves all the time.  It happens every day.  They don’t mean to hurt anyone but they run out of coping resources.  And that’s where I find myself right now.  I don’t think that I can weather one more bad situation.  I am at the end of my rope.

I don’t know if anyone will find this or if anyone will respond.  I hope so.  I would just like to hear from somebody at this point.  I feel so isolated, like I am an alien in this world.  Our society isn’t very nice to people who screw up or fall behind or fall through the cracks for whatever reason, and I almost feel like I am not allowed to be a part of the world around me.

That is all for now.  We’ll see if I keep updating this.  I think on very bad days it could be therapeutic.  If you leave a comment I will do my best to respond.  I am brand new to blogging, like I said.  I look forward to hearing from you and I hope you are having a better day than me.

22 thoughts on “A Very Long Goodbye

  1. I am in exactly the same situation except for the suicide part. I’ve came across your blog after googling “35 year old loser” im hopes i can find people like me. I’m sure we can help each other! Please respond as soon as you can!!!
    My email :
    thompson42012@gmail.com
    Write anytime but please write!!! We can do it and it’ s worth it!!!

    Like

  2. Hi! I know it’s been two years since your blog, and hope you are alive and better. Anyways tomorrow is my 34th birthday and I’ve been feeling like a loser myself, I have no job, I can’t study due to financial issues and feel like my life has nothing else to offer. I too have been contemplating ending it all, but I have two kids and it’s driving me crazy the damage I can make. I don’t know if it’s going to get better it would be nice to know that it has been better for you, so I can have a little hope. Anyways I’m not used to sharing my feelings at all so bear with me. Hope you the best;
    Another loser 34 year old woman.

    Like

    1. Hi Jen, I’m still here. Thanks for reaching out. Things have gotten better for me, and there is hope. I have a long way to go still but I am making progress. Would you like to talk? I can share more with you if it would help to give you some hope. I know how hard it can be to share your feelings, I am not good at it either.

      Like

    2. I’m 35.

      I’ve never had a normal life, I was in mental health programs since I was a small child, I was separated from the other kids in elementary school, I was placed in an academically limited program in high school.

      My early 20s was spent in employment programs that never succeeded in getting me any employment that lasted.

      I’ve never had a relationship, never had sex, never had long lasting friendships, worse I’ve never had any of the experiences most people have as children or teenagers, or made any of the accomplishments people tend to make in those years.

      My life didn’t become broken as much as it was broken from the start. And to add to it all I had to live this kind of life in winnipeg, the worst city you could imagine.

      It would have at least been bearable if I had lived in a place where it wasn’t still snowing in April every year, where stuff actually occurred and where there was actually things to do.

      I’m absolutely obsessed with the idea of “redo”, the concept of going back in time, becoming a child again, and reliving your life without making the same kinds of mistakes you had the first time around.

      I’ve looked deeply into the science of the concept, turning a 40 year old back into a 4 year old, sending them back in time to live their lives all over again.

      Time travel and the restoration of the old into the very young again. These concepts are fascinating to me. I’m unhealthy obsessed with them.

      Hopefully one day i cpuld make this a reality and relive my life the way it should have been lived.

      Like

      1. Hi Adam. I have been really interested in time travel also, since I was little. For the same reasons. And the idea of reverse aging or cheating death altogether, to buy more time for a do-over. It’s hard to let go of these things. I am struggling a lot in therapy with regret, and the combination of anger and shame that comes from all of this, whether it’s due to mental illness or other circumstances. It’s hard. I am learning a little bit at a time to let go of blaming myself for what happened and to grieve the loss of a fantasy life, but to also remember that it is just a fantasy. It is a lot to come to terms with, but it has been helping a little bit. We have so little control over so many of these things, and are so often working with not enough information, we don’t know what else to do. I hope you are doing well tonight, feel free to write anytime.

        Like

  3. Hey guys! 36 year old guy in a similar position. But slowly working my way with daily mindset work, good nutrition and exercise. Hoping to be back in my own place soon. Let’s keep out heads up and keep plugging forward! Life isn’t over, just starting over.

    Like

  4. Thanks for sharing. This is good. Keep this blog going. Start a YouTube channel if you haven’t already.

    The material you have is real. The material world will cause much emotional and mental distress.

    Keep ticking until your number is called. I will pray that you do not call your own number.

    Let us overcome this world together!

    Like

  5. I’m in your situation or previous situation rather but I’ve been in this situation up n down so much..I’m just tired..I just can’t do it myself I dunno what to do but life sucks.im a trans woman (not that it means like anything like everyone has fucked up shit I know for sure I’m not special) but yea I’m alone and I can’t stand my body and have done everything to change it..I’m in a place without family cause of my body and choices to be an emberassing thing to all of them n move to Portland Oregon lol it was dumb..people here just shit on me or befriend me to shit on me hard n fuck my situations up later so I keep myself away from people I’ve tried to find love or friendship and that a was never a problem before but now I’m stuck..I don’t see a way out just a long tedious depressing snxious horrendous lonely life..I also have some pain problems n walking issues n like that culminated the last few years I got to where I literally could not stand..I got addicted to heroin to deal w pain again lol and got off I’ve been clean a year..I don’t think it’s actually gonna get “better” oki will prolly end it soon but I don’t know if I can without trying to exist maybe to see 2021..after that I think I’m going to make some concrete plans.. I don’t know what to fight for anymore…

    Like

  6. Are you still with us? If so I have to say if you’ve worked had sex 20 or 30 times by the age of 34 you’re much better of than I’ll ever be… I’m 35, a never employed virgin, who had never traveled from the tiny island of ireland and weighs approximately 252lbs with fuck all back teeth who most likely has at least one prison sentence coming up next year. I consider suicide s constantly. I’ve managed to save €28000 from my social money the biggest acomplishment of my life but it in a way cost me my life because I’ve no sellable skills and no life experience. I was made homeless when I was 28 and stopped talking to my family for nearly 7 years firstly because they refused to listen to me when I needed help. Then when I got a place I wanted to be employed and proud and empowered and be the one to contact them (my father I haven’t seen since 2011 but nobody talks to him)
    you see I developed a cannabis addiction and had undiagnosed adhd and from the age of 14 to the age of 15 my whole identity was an a stoner. Then when I got there flat I couldn’t quite put it into words but I didn’t know what to do and it did not help that I moved next door to a stoner so from that point on my life has just been a accumulation of emotionally impulsive decisions and severe procrastination. developing my own practice of a mantra meditation and chanting is really all that’s keeping me going. So that’s me summed up. Death is looking very attractive I just don’t know if I could do it to my sweet mother. So I am wondering if I’m just going to see it as a relief when she does eventually go because then I can finally kill myself. Who knows? Hope you might get in touch.

    All the best.

    Like

    1. Hey, I’m still here. I think I am gonna do another entry, people keep finding this blog. I know a bit about your situation. I hate ADHD. I abused amphetamines for a while so they’ll no longer treat me for it. If you ever get on meds don’t do that, lol. I can’t get anything done and I keep doing stupid shit. I’m in therapy for some other stuff which is helping but I’m very privileged to be able to go to therapy. I think about that with my mom also. I wonder if one day when she passes I’ll end up doing it. I’d still have my sister but maybe by then she’ll have a family of her own. I don’t know. Anyway, I hope you are hanging in there right now, as I still am. I’d be happy to stay in touch.

      Like

  7. Thank you, all of you. You’ve saved a life. Keep going all of you, no matter how dim you feel your light is, keep going because to someone else it is a beacon in the dark.

    Like

  8. 30 year old loser here. Never read or did anything in my life one girlfriend and no job experiance. You guys look like you guys have good writing skills at least you have something . Keep it up I’m all alone at a college charging my car for no reason my mom just yells at me and every time I find a job I leave it because of the social issues. Keep trying don’t give up. Panic attacks are the worse and not being able to trust people has it bad. But I’m a people pleasure so no matter what I try my best to make others happy.

    Like

  9. Stay positive everybody, life is short and we only ge tone chance at this and at any one moment it can all turn around, keep your head up and stay positive, and never give up, keep fighting! go out there and whip their asses, this world is ours and we can control our destiny, never stop working always dream bigger and keep going one small step at a time. like the smart guys say it starts in the morning you make your bed, after that you started your day accomplishing something.

    Like

    1. Hi Jennilyn, how are you? I am still here and things have actually gotten better, though I’ve had a rough couple of days, hence the late response. What’s going on in your life?

      Like

  10. My closest friend ended his life just over a month ago.

    Separately, Im a loser. Im failing and not living up to expectations. I cant tell anyone how bad it really is. I try to stay grateful but i hate myself so much. The person i could talk about it with is gone. I think about suicide a lot. Have my whole life. Dont want to hurt others tho. But it hurts to keep failing when everyone around me is doing great. I have no excuses for my faults and failures, they are my own. Im just a disappointment.

    Like

    1. I am so sorry to hear about the loss of your friend. That is devastating. I wish that I could offer comfort but I know comfort must feel impossible right now. I haven’t updated this blog in a long time but for what it’s worth I ended up not killing myself. Things have gotten better but I still have a long way to go. I have actually been struggling a lot lately with what you described, feeling like all of this is my fault, and I have no one to blame but myself. But I have been helping a new friend lately with something that feels overwhelming and beyond her control, but she is blaming herself for all of it, and I have been reassuring her that there are forces out there that are much bigger than her, and that she doesn’t have absolute control over what she’s going through. It’s funny explaining that to someone, truly believing it, and then struggling to believe the very same thing about yourself. Our culture is very punitive and is obsessed with individual autonomy and it likes to shame those of us (all of us, in some way or another), that struggle to keep up with some standard. And because of this we are all very scared to admit that we aren’t really in the driver’s seat with a lot of this stuff. I’m feeling pretty lost right now myself, and am looking into a new type of therapy that maybe will provide some answers. Anyway, maybe that it will help a little bit to hear that, and again, I’m so sorry that you are going through the loss of a beloved friend right now. I hope you are safe right now. Please feel free to keep in touch. I might start writing here again.

      Like

Leave a comment